Counting My Blessings

 These are the things I am most thankful for right now:

My son. My sweet angel, and favorite little devil.

My boyfriend, for showing up, opening my eyes and my heart, and letting me know a kind of love I had only read about before.

Pumpkin. And by pumpkin I mean pumpkin spice lattes, pumpkin ice cream, pumpkin cheesecake, pumpkin bread, pumpkin seeds….

My extremely loving, supportive, and sometimes dysfunctional family.

My niece and nephew, who are of course a part of the blessing above, but truly need their own call out because of how unique and precious they are. I always have such a blast with them, and just by being themselves with their extremely dynamic personalities, they make me laugh like nobody else can.

Tom Robbins books.

Conundrum wine, which gave me the guts to put myself out there and start dating again, which directly led to me meeting my guy.

My Mom’s carrot cake.

Coffee.

Finally having long sought after balance in my life.

Led Zeppelin.

My super kick ass camera. I researched and saved for it for 3 years, finally pulled the trigger about 5 months ago. I’m still trying to figure out how to use it…

Yoga.

Valium. For when yoga doesn’t get me there.

Scary movies.

Knee high boots and flip flops.

The beach.

My strength, faith, and hopelessly optimistic spirit.

My career, and all of the people who took chances on me along the way.

All of my girlfriends. We’re all spread out all over the country now, but I love them dearly, miss them tons, and very much look forward to our phone dates.

The BEST Apple Crisp recipe on the planet, which I got from my friend Jen, and haven’t shared with anyone else, until now. This recipe is so freaking easy, and the results are so unbelievably fantastic, you’re going to want to keep it to yourself too! I just made it for dessert for tomorrow night, here’s a photo of the finished product:


And here is the recipe:

Ingredients
6 apple – peeled, cored and sliced
1 cup water
1 (18.25 ounce) package white cake mix
1 cup packed brown sugar
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 cup butter, melted

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Lightly grease a 9×13 inch baking dish.
Arrange apples in an even layer in bottom of baking dish. Pour water over apples.
In a medium bowl, mix together cake mix, brown sugar, and cinnamon. Stir in melted butter until ingredients are thoroughly blended; mixture will be crumbly. Sprinkle mixture over apples.
Bake in preheated oven for 50 to 55 minutes.
Serve warm with vanilla ice cream and enjoy!

I hope you all have a safe and happy Thanksgiving, with many cocktails and as little family drama as possible!

Thankful Thursday Blog Hop           Mama's Losin' It

My Thirty Spot
4 thoughts on “Counting My Blessings

  1. I Love you and am Very thankful for you and your love and support throughout all kinds of dilemmas and tragedies as well as lots of laughter and good times

    • Thanks! Have you tried making it yet? It seriously is the best apple crisp you’re ever going to have, promise!

Leave a Reply

